

Where did your government come from?



In the beginning

Until 800 years ago Guernsey was considered part of Normandy.

In 1204, King John lost Normandy which he had ruled along with England for many years.

This led to years of confusion about who the Channel Islands belonged to. However, in 1221, King Henry III of England declared that the islands should be governed according to their own laws and not be part of England.

This is why, to this day, Guernsey is not English.

The development of the States

The first record of a "States-like" meeting dates back to 1429.

Guernsey's first nine *Deputies* were elected in 1900, their number increasing to 18 in 1928 and 33 in 1948.

These days, the *States* of Guernsey is made up of 38 *Deputies* as well as two elected representatives from *Alderney*.

On 1 May 2016, following a change to the structure of Guernsey's political system, the number of Deputies was reduced from 45 to 38 and the number of States' committees was also reduced. The senior committee is now the Policy & Resources Committee.

This change was as a result of the work of the States Review Committee and the subsequent decisions made by the States of Deliberation in 2015.

Relationship with the Crown and United Kingdom

Guernsey is a Crown Dependency.
Guernsey's primary legislation requires
Royal Assent. The British Government also
has some responsibility for Guernsey, for
example in defence and international
relations. However, in practical terms,
Guernsey has a considerable degree of
autonomy and is largely self-governing.
Images supplied by: BBC Guernsey





Time Line

1221

1429

Today



Guernsey is no longer part of Normandy

Guernsey's existing status as a Crown Dependency is confirmed

The first records of a States-like meeting

The first nine Deputies are elected

2016 Reform of the States of Deliberation

and Commissions

May 1st – The Structure of Guernsey's Government changed. Previously the States was made up of 45 Deputies and there were more committees than there are now.

Today, the States of Deliberation comprises the Bailiff, two Law Officers,
38 Deputies and two Alderney Representatives. There are six Principal
Committees and a Senior Committee, and seven Authorities, Boards

All terms in Italics are explained within the Glossary booklet